Archive for May 3rd, 2017

It’s Come To This: Water Yoga – Grab Your Stand-Up Paddle Board and Pay Attention to the Commodore

Wednesday, May 3rd, 2017

20170401_071454 copy

Oregonians Make Themselves a Temporary Home on Busy Busy Fell Street

Wednesday, May 3rd, 2017

You’re not supposed to park large vehicles such as this at night at this location anymore, but I think enforcement is “complaint-driven,” at this point and I’m not going to complain.

7J7C1245 copy

Entering your home from the fast lane of Fell is the tricky part…

Hey Man, How Can You Afford That Jaguar?

Wednesday, May 3rd, 2017

7J7C1234 copy

Oh, that’s how.

Free Shakespeare in the Park Announces “Hamlet” Dates in Frisco: Sept 2 to Oct 1st in the Presidio and McLaren Park

Wednesday, May 3rd, 2017

Well this is something. I expect something like this at from our Presidio Trust but it’s surprising to me to see RPD able to abide a free show in McLaren Park.

Anyway, it’s your choice come September 2017.

All the deets here.

“FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

35th Anniversary of Free Shakespeare in the Park Announces “Hamlet” Dates
July 1 – October 1 in Pleasanton, Cupertino, Redwood City and San Francisco

“Break my heart, for I must hold my tongue.”

San Francisco, CA –San Francisco Shakespeare Festival proudly announces the dates for Hamlet in select venues
across the Bay Area for its annual Free Shakespeare in the Park production. Free Shakespeare in the Park has now been a beloved family tradition in the Bay Area for 35 years, and the company is celebrating that anniversary by producing Shakespeare’s timeless tragedy in the park for the first time.

Directed by SF Shakes Resident Artist Stephen Muterspaugh, Hamlet will feature Davern Wright* in the title role. The
rest of the cast includes Rolf Saxon* as Claudius, Leontyne Mbele-Mbong as Gertrude, Sharon Huff* as Polonius,
Julian Lopez-Morillas* as The Ghost/Player King/1st Gravedigger, Kieran Beccia as Ophelia, Sydney Schwindt as
Laertes, Nathaniel Andalis as Horatio, Melissa Quine* as Rosencrantz/Marcellus/Osric, and Radhika Rao as
Guildenstern/Barnardo/2nd Gravedigger.

The modern-dress production will highlight contemporary political parallels within Hamlet. The play, about the
questionable succession of King Claudius to the throne of Denmark over his nephew Prince Hamlet, speaks strongly
about disenfranchisement, frustration, and the need for action during troubled times. Muterspaugh will direct this
production after co-directing The Taming of the Shrew with Artistic Director Rebecca Ennals in 2014 and directing four seasons of the company’s Shakespeare On Tour. Also returning to the Festival’s mainstage production is Scenic
Designer Jay Lasnik, who designed The Winter’s Tale in 2016.

Bring your family and friends, a blanket and a picnic to enjoy professional theater at no charge in a beautiful park
setting!

*denotes a member of Actor’s Equity Association

2017 Performance schedule for Hamlet:

Pleasanton’s Amador Valley Community Park, Santa Rita Road and Black Avenue

– Saturday, July 1 at 7:30 pm – Preview
– Sunday, July 2 at 7:30 pm – Opening
– Saturday, July 8 at 7:30 pm
– Sunday, July 9 at 7:30 pm
– Saturday, July 15 at 7:30 pm
– Sunday, July 16 at 7:30 pm

Cupertino’s Memorial Park Amphitheater, Stevens Creek Blvd and Mary Avenue

– Saturday, July 22 at 7:30 pm – Preview
– Sunday, July 23 at 7:30 pm – Opening
– Friday, July 28 at 7:30 pm
– Saturday, July 29 at 7:30 pm
– Sunday, July 30 at 7:30 pm
– Friday, August 4 at 7:30 pm
– Saturday, August 5 at 7:30 pm
– Sunday, August 6 at 7:30 pm

Redwood City, grounds of Sequoia High School, 1201 Brewster Avenue at Broadway

– Saturday, August 12 at 7:30 pm – Preview
– Sunday, August 13 at 4:00 pm – Opening
– Saturday, August 19 at 7:30 pm
– Sunday, August 20 at 4:00 pm
– Saturday, August 26 at 7:30 pm
– Sunday, August 27 at 4:00 pm

San Francisco’s Presidio, Main Post Parade Ground Lawn

– Saturday, September 2 at 2:00 pm – Preview
– Sunday, September 3 at 2:00 pm – Opening
– Monday, September 4 (Labor Day) at 2:00 pm
– Saturday, September 9 at 2:00 pm
– Sunday, September 10 at 2:00 pm
– Saturday, September 16 at 2:00 pm
– Sunday, September 17 at 2:00 pm

San Francisco’s McLaren Park, Jerry Garcia Amphitheater, 40 John F. Shelley Drive

– Saturday, September 23 at 2:00 pm – Preview
– Sunday, September 24 at 2:00 pm – Opening
– Friday, September 29 at 10:00 am
– Saturday, September 30 at 2:00 pm
– Sunday, October 1 at 2:00 pm – CLOSING

Admission is free. For more information, call the San Francisco Shakespeare Festival at (415) 558-0888 or visit
www.sfshakes.org

About San Francisco Shakespeare Festival

The mission of the San Francisco Shakespeare Festival is to make the words and themes of Shakespeare accessible to
everyone, regardless of age, ethnicity, financial status, or level of education. We accomplish this through the
presentation of Free Shakespeare in the Park and a wide array of education programs: Shakespeare On Tour,
Tailor-Made Residencies, Bay Area Shakespeare Camps, Midnight Shakespeare, and Shakespeare for All.

Shakespeare On Tour performs an abridged Shakespeare play at schools, libraries, and community centers all over the
state. Tailor-Made Residencies connect teaching artists with classroom teachers for in-class theatre enrichment,
specifically tailored to their learning objectives and their students. Bay Area Shakespeare Camps for ages 4-6, 7-13,
and 12-18 are two-week theatre camps held throughout the Bay Area. Midnight Shakespeare, the Festival’s after-school program for underserved and low-income youth, serves participants in San Francisco, Oakland, San Jose and Antioch.

Shakespeare For All in three Central Valley communities–Salida, Madera, and Chowchilla–gives residents a chance to
stage community productions of Shakespeare’s plays with the assistance and guidance of theater professionals.